Third Annual Virtual Caregiving Conference

Third Annual Virtual Caregiving

Conference Agenda

Our Third Annual Virtual Caregiving Conference will take place on Sunday, April 3. Our first sessions begins at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT, 11 a.m. PT). Our conference will close after our last presentation ends at 5 p.m. ET (4 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. PT).

To watch our conference, just go to our Virtual Caregiving Conferencepage on April 3.

Our agenda is as follows:

Emergency Preparedness: 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT, 11 a.m. PT)
Dianne Pierson, a retired physical therapist who has cared for her father, step-father and grandmother, will help us with emergency preparedness for the home. We will understand and discuss fire and weather emergencies as well as learn what to have in the home at all times to be prepared. Finally, Dianne will discuss in-home medical emergencies.

Activity Ideas: 2:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. CT, 11:30 a.m. PT)
In her presentation, Gincy Heins, who cares for her husband and cared for her parents, will share:

  • ideas we can give family members and others so they will feel more comfortable visiting;

  • activities children and teens can do with a caree;

  • ideas they can use with a caree when looking for an activity;

Round table Discussion: Asking for and Receiving Help: 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, Noon PT)
Gincy and I will be joined by Gael Chiarellla Alba, who cared for her parents and her son. We’ll share our thoughts on what we’ve learned about asking for and receiving help.

Round table Discussion: Preparing for Your Future: 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT, 12:30 p.m. PT)
Colleen Kavanaugh, who cared for her parents, Elizabeth Miller, who cares for her mother, and MaryAnne Sterling, who cares for her mother and cared for her father, will discuss how to prepare for the future during a time when the future feels so foreign — caregiving.

Round table Discussion: Coping with Difficult Days: 4 p.m. ET (3 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. PT)
Richard Kreis, who cares for his mom and his brother-in-law, and Amy Taklif, who cares for her grandmother, will join me to talk about how we cope with difficult days.

Coping Through Humor: 4:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. CT, 1:30 p.m. PT)
During her presentation, Rosie McMahan, who cares for her brother and cared for her mother, will acknowledge the courage it takes to do things — again and again — that you are not sure will work but do them anyway. Her presentation will honor — without glorifying — her parent’s decision to care for her brother for 50 years. It will also inspire those of us often thrust into impossible situations to explore options even when options do not seem apparent or accessible. “My presentation will be a way for me to keep doing what I do and becoming who I want to be,” Rosie adds.

Each session will last 20 minutes. Please feel free to join us when you can and stay as long as you’d like. Our chatroom will be open during our conference so you can connect and share with other attendees.

IMPORTANT LINKS:

To attend the conference go to:

http://www.caregiving.com/2016/03/third-annual-virutal-caregiving-conference-agenda/

To be a sponsor for the conference go to: 

http://www.caregiving.com/sponsor-our-virtual-caregiving-conference/

 

Look forward to seeing you there.

 

%d bloggers like this: